## **Tax Penalty Special Enrollment Period**

Marketplace	SEP Specifics	Time	Effective Date
FFM	Consumer must attest that they are required	March 15 –	If plan selected by 15 <sup>th</sup>
	to pay a penalty for being uninsured and were	April 30	of the month, first of
	not aware of or did not understand the		the following month. If
	implications of the penalty until after open		after the 15 <sup>th</sup> , first of
	enrollment ended when they prepared their		the next following
	2014 taxes. <sup>1</sup>		month.
Minnesota	Consumer must be required to pay the penalty	March 1 –	
	for being uninsured. Unclear if this is based on	April 30	
	attestation or if consumers are required to		
	provide proof. <sup>2</sup>		
Washington	For consumers who state that they were	Feb. 17 –	
	unaware of the tax penalty. Must select plan	April 17	
	by the April 17 deadline. <sup>3</sup>		
Connecticut	For consumers who find out they owe the	30 days,	
	penalty when they file their taxes. SEP is for 60	likely in April	
	days after they find out they owe the penalty,		
	but anyone with this SEP must have applied		
	and selected a plan by May 1.4		
New York	To be eligible for this SEP, individuals must	March 1 –	
	attest that when they filed their 2014 federal	April 30	
	tax return, that they paid a penalty for not		
	having health insurance in 2014, and that they		
	first became aware of or understood the		
	implications of not having health insurance in		
	2014 when they filed their federal tax return. <sup>5</sup>		
California	Consumer must attest that they were unaware	Feb 23 –	
	of the tax penalty previously. Doesn't explicitly	April 30	
	mention having to have been charged a		
	penalty to qualify. <sup>6</sup>		
Vermont	Vermonters who don't have health insurance	Feb 16 –	First of the month
	and learn about the penalty when they file	May 31	following plan
	their 2014 taxes qualify. Must select plan		selection.
	within 60 days of learning about the penalty. <sup>7</sup>		

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> http://www.cms.gov/Newsroom/MediaReleaseDatabase/Press-releases/2015-Press-releases-items/2015-02-20.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> https://www.mnsure.org/individual-family/enrollment/sep-tax-penalty.jsp

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> http://wahbexchange.org/files/6414/2410/7065/Feb\_\_17\_to\_April\_17\_SEP\_FAQs\_FINAL.pdf

http://www.courant.com/business/connecticut-insurance/hc-access-health-ct-enrollment-20150223-story.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> http://info.nystateofhealth.ny.gov/news/press-release-ny-state-health-announces-special-enrollment-period-uninsured-new-yorkers-facing

http://news.coveredca.com/2015/02/covered-california-offers-consumers.html

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>7</sup> http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/sites/hcexchange/files/For%20Immediate%20Release2\_19.pdf

## **Staff Recommendation:**

- SEP from March 15, 2015 April 30, 2015
- Option for the executive director to extend the SEP to end on October 15, 2015 for those who request an extension to file their taxes.
- Use FFM attestation. To qualify, consumer must:
  - Attest that when they filed their 2014 federal tax return they paid the Shared Responsibility Payment for not having health coverage in 2014, and;
  - Attest that they first became aware of, or understood the implications of, the Shared Responsibility Payment after the end of open enrollment (February 15, 2015) in connection with preparing their 2014 federal tax return.
- Effective date: If plan selected on or before 15<sup>th</sup> of the month, first of the following month. If after the 15<sup>th</sup>, first of the next following month.