

RESOLUTION EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA HEALTH BENEFIT EXCHANGE AUTHORITY

To make appointments to the Producer Advisory Committee.

WHEREAS, the Health Benefit Exchange Authority Establishment Act of 2011, effective March 4, 2012 (D.C. Law 19-94; D.C. Official Code § 31-3171.01 *et seq*.) ("Act") created the District of Columbia Health Benefit Exchange Authority ("HBX"), an independent authority of the Government of the District of Columbia, and its governing Executive Board;

WHEREAS, §8 of the Act (D.C. Code §31-3171.07) authorizes the Executive Board to create additional advisory boards or committees and appoint members to consult with on insurance standards, covered benefits, premiums, plan certification, internet technology system development, and any other policy or operational issue within the Executive Board's purview; and

WHEREAS, by resolution adopted on December 12, 2012, the Executive Board created the Producer Advisory Committee, with associated areas of focus and membership requirements;

WHEREAS, in 2012, the Board referred candidate selection for advisory committees to the Standing Advisory Board;

WHEREAS, the Board appointed members of the Producer Advisory Committee to a term of two (2) years, but permitted, pursuant to D.C. Code §31-3171.07(e)(l), appointees to continue to serve until his or her successor has been approved by a majority vote of the Executive Board;

WHEREAS, the Executive Board reserved the right to remove an advisory committee member, with or without cause, by a majority vote;

WHEREAS, the Producer Advisory Committee has not had new members appointed since the Board approved its membership on February 7, 2013;

WHEREAS, upon receiving a robust pool of candidates covering the categories of consumer advocates, brokers, general agencies, and carriers, the Standing Advisory Board reviewed the candidates, met on August 30, 2018 to further review and vote on candidates, and made a unanimous recommendation to the Board for 11 Producer Advisory Committee members, and recommended a chair and vice chair as well:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board hereby appoints the following individuals to the Producer Advisory Committee and appoints a chairperson vice-chairperson as indicated herein.

Producer Advisory Committee

- Yodit Abebe, Community of Hope
- Ben D'Avanzo, Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum
- Cheryl Fish-Parcham, Families USA
- Sheebani Patel, Kaiser Permanente
- Nabila Rahman, CareFirst
- Ileana Jarrin, Crawford Advisors
- Tamara Pearsall, Employee Benefits Corporation of America
- Lee Bethel, Comprehensive Benefit Services Inc. (Chair)
- Stephanie Cohen, Golden & Cohen
- Margarita Dilone, Crystal Insurance Group Inc.
- Janet Trautwein, National Association of Health Underwriters (Vice Chair)

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing Resolution was adopted on this <u>12th</u> day of <u>September 2018</u>, by the Executive Board of the District of Columbia Health Benefit Exchange Authority in an open meeting.

Khalid Pitts, Secretary/Treasurer	Date	
District of Columbia Health Benefits Exchange Authority		