Health Benefit Exchange Authority

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

DC Health Benefit Exchange (HBX) Standing Advisory Board

Standing Advisory Board (SAB) - Appointees with expertise in health care, health advocacy, and policy analysis will assist HBX in establishing a vibrant health exchange.

Pursuant to the Health Benefit Exchange Establishment Act of 2011 (DC Law 19-94), the Board is directed to appoint members to a Standing Advisory, for which the Board shall solicit recommendations, and consult on insurance standards, covered benefits, premiums, plan, technology system development, and any other policy or operational issues within the executive board’s discretion.

The Standing Advisory Board consist of District residents who have expertise related to at least one of the following categories:

(1) Health professionals;

(2) Health insurance consumers;

(3) Disease and demographic-specific advocacy groups;

(4) Commercial sector health plans;

(5) Public sector health plans;

(6) Health insurance brokers;

(7) Health care consumer interest advocacy;

(8) Health care foundations;

(9) Exchange consumers; or

(10) such other interests considered necessary.

With staggered terms, board members began their work immediately. The appointees are:

Chris Gardiner – Chris Gardiner is the founder of GKA, P.C., a minority-owned certified public accounting and management consulting firm domiciled in the District of Columbia and has served as its chairman for the past 25 years. Mr. Gardiner is currently a member of the Board of Directors of United Medical Center, the District of Columbia’s not-for-profit hospital corporation, and previously served on the Board of Directors of Howard University Hospital. Mr. Gardiner was chosen to satisfy categories 2 and 9, health insurance and Exchange consumers, and was appointed for a 4-year term as well as to serve as chairman of the Advisory Board.

Claire McAndrew – Claire McAndrew is a Senior Health Policy Analyst at Families USA, a national non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to the achievement of high quality, affordable coverage for all. In that position, Ms. McAndrew tracks exchange establishment efforts nationwide and manages advocacy work on exchanges, both as it pertains to federal policymaking and to provide technical assistance to state-based advocacy organizations. Ms. McAndrew was chosen to satisfy category 7, health care consumer interest advocacy, and was appointed for a 4-year term.

Dania Palanker – Dania Palanker has been the Senior Health Policy Advisor for National Women’s Law Center since 2011. Ms. Palanker has been tracking the implementation of ACA and the establishment of health exchanges in particular on a professional basis since the passage of the legislation. She was chosen to satisfy category 3, demographic-specific advocacy groups, and was appointed for a 2-year term, and was re-appointed for a full four-year term that will expire in November 2018.

Billy MacCartee – Billy MacCartee has been the President of MacCartee Medical Management, Inc. (First Financial Group) since 1996. As an insurance broker, Mr. MacCartee has over 200 corporate clients in the mid-Atlantic area. Mr. MacCartee was chosen to satisfy the mandatory requirement of having a broker (category 6) on the Standing Advisory Board and was appointed for a 3-year term. He was reappointed to a four year term that expires in November 2019.

Jill DeGraff – Jill DeGraff is the general counsel for AFrame Digital, a health IT company providing remote monitoring solutions for seniors and patients with chronic conditions in home, senior living, and long term care settings. Through her profession, Ms. DeGraff has gained familiarity with the ACA generally and in particular with efforts to promote innovative models of care and payment. Ms. DeGraff was chosen to satisfy categories 2 and 9, health insurance and Exchange consumers, and was appointed for a 3-year term. She was reappointed to a four year term that expires in November 2019.

Kevin Dougherty – Kevin Dougherty has been an employee at the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, National Capital Chapter for over 19 years, serving as a Counselor, Care Manager, and Clinical Supervisor. Mr. Dougherty currently serves as Vice President of Programs and Services at the Chapter and his responsibilities include overseeing the development, delivery and evaluation of programs and services. Mr. Dougherty was chosen to satisfy category 3, disease-specific groups, and was appointed for a 3-year term. He was reappointed to a four year term that expires in November 2019.

Laurie Kuiper  Laurie Kuiper is the Senior Director of Government Relations for Kaiser Permanente's Mid-Atlantic States Region.  Since the passage of the Affordable Care Act in 2010,  Ms. Kuiper has represented Kaiser's interests in the development of insurance exchanges in Washington DC, Maryland and Virginia.  Prior to joining Kaiser Permanente in 2009, Ms. Kuiper was employed by America's Health Insurance Plans as a Regional Director in AHIP's State Policy & Advocacy Department.  In this position, she directed AHIP's state government relations activities in the Midwest and Mid-Atlantic regions of the US.  She was chosen to satisfy category (4) commercial sector health plans.  She was initially appointed to fulfill a two-year term of an original Standing Advisory Board member who resigned.  She was then appointed to a full four-year term that expires in November 2018.

Chile Ahaghotu, MD, MBA, MHL Dr. Ahaghotu is Professor Chief of Urology at Howard University College of Medicine and Hospital. He previously served as the Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and holds adjunct academic appointments in the Departments of Family and Community Medicine as well as Obstetrics and Gynecology.  He has also served as President of the Howard University Hospital Medical and Dental Staff, Chairman of the Faculty Practice Plan Physicians Advisory Council, President of the Washington Urologic Society, Chair of the urology section of the National Medical Association and President of the R. Frank Jones Urologic Society. Dr. Ahaghotu currently sits on the American Urologic Association’s Health Policy Council. Dr. Ahaghotu is well known, locally and nationally, for his keen clinical acumen, extensive research accomplishments and relentless commitment to teach excellence. His term expires in November 2018.

Dave Chandrasekaran is a Health Care Consultant specializing in health policy and advocacy.  He is also a volunteer Certified Application Counselor (CAC) with Northern Virginia Family Services.  Mr. Chandrasekaran spent nearly 5 years as a Senior Policy Analyst at the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities where he supported state and national efforts to implement the Affordable Care Act, with a focus on Health Insurance Marketplaces.  He formerly served in DC government in the Fenty Administration in the Office of the City Administrator, Department of Health, and Department of Health Care Finance, and has worked on local health care access issues for over a decade.  As a self-employed DC resident, Mr. Chandrasekaran receives his health coverage via DC Health Link.  He was appointed to fill a vacant position and his term expires in November 2016.