Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Health Benefit Exchange Authority

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Formation of Standard Plans Advisory Working Group

On March 22, 2013, the Executive Board of the Health Benefit Exchange Authority (HBX) adopted a resolution that provides, for the development of one or more standardized benefit plans (benefits and cost sharing) at all metal level tiers based on input from consumers, employers, carriers, and based on early purchaser preferences. That is, all carriers would offer at least one plan in each metal tier with standardized cost-sharing and benefit designs, in addition to other plans the carrier may offer, provided that they offer plans in that metal tier.

The HBX announces the formation of the Standard Plans Advisory Working Group to address this issue. Leighton Ku, Board member, has agreed to chair the working group. Working group meetings are anticipated to begin in late July. The group is expected to develop recommendations for the Executive Board by October 2, 2014.

The Working Group will also address the issue of setting appropriate deductibles for pediatric dental benefits in QHPs with the pediatric dental benefits embedded in the QHP.

HBX is seeking interested persons willing to serve on the Advisory Working Group.  HBX anticipates representation on the Advisory Working Group from the broad spectrum of stakeholders that have participated in other advisory working groups, including consumer advocates, health carriers, brokers, researchers and others interested in developing standard plans for DC Health Link.

Parties who wish to serve on the Standard Plans Advisory Working Group should submit an expression of interest to Mary Beth Senkewicz, Associate General Counsel and Policy Advisor, at [email protected] by July 23, 2014.

In addition, those who would like to submit information or suggestions to the Working Group about the use of standard plans in health insurance marketplaces may also forward this information to Ms. Senkewicz.